Politics of an American Family

I have often found a clash in the political views of my family. Occasionally, there may be a light argument between myself and my parents or sisters, but nothing too drastic. Out of curiosity, I had my each of my family members participate in an online political test to see where their views fall on the political compass.

Standard rhetoric limits the spectrum of political thought to a ‘left’ or ‘right’ ideology. While this may be acceptable in discussing economic issues, real political affiliation is more complicated than the standard left-right line. The political compass test plots the result of political affiliation in both economic and social dimensions.

They closely evaluate the public statements, manifestos, interviews and, most importantly voting records of world leaders to find out where they fall on the compass.  Feel free to take the test yourself (post your results in the ‘comments ‘section below), but for now, here are the current results of my family’s political affiliation (click to enlarge):

Politics of a Family

Based on these results, you can see that most of my family falls within the inner few units of political center. In contrast, I have developed a much more leftist, libertarian viewpoint.

5 Responses

  1. Economic Left/Right: -6.00
    Social Libertarian/Authoritarian: -8.21

    Interesting…

  2. Economic Left/Right: -3.88
    Social Libertarian/Authoritarian: -5.85

    Not surprised.

  3. Economic Left/Right: -5.75
    Social Libertarian/Authoritarian: -2.56

  4. Economic Left/Right: -2.50
    Social Libertarian/Authoritarian: -5.54

    I’d say this is interesting, but its very important not to take the numbers too seriously. I found the questions to lean a little left economically, and I think a more accurate assessment of my stance is socially liberal and economically conservative.

    I don’t understand how you assess political ‘units’ or how they evaluated all those politicians.

  5. Economic Left/Right: -6.25
    Social Libertarian/Authoritarian: -5.18

    I agree that I’d like to know how the ratings are chosen for world leaders. It’s true I am a little fuzzy on the difference between authoritative and libertarian. I am a fan of government, especially democracy, and especially if we could cut a lot of the mulla power out of Democracy and get back to “little d” democracy. Schools, roads, and balanced court systems are at the top of my list of favorite authoritarian systems.

Leave a Reply

